Profuse and Various

Home » Just for kicks » Hiatus is Hard

Hiatus is Hard

Wow. Christmas break really gets you out of the habit of blogging.

It’s funny, because now that I’ve graduated (woohoo!), I actually have nothing to do until my paperwork goes through and I can start substitute teaching. So there’s nothing preventing me from blogging each and every day, and yet somehow it just didn’t get done. ‘Slipped my mind’, is the phrase.

Particularly amusing for me since ‘I forgot’ is WAY up there on the number one list of excuses for students not doing something in one of my classes. The human brain is a weird device like that. As much as you try to keep training it, there’s always some new way that it figures out to get into a distracted loop.

It feels very strange to be experiencing that sort of directionless distraction. I have no job, no immediate goals of impact in my career, and no real immediate household work needs that require a significant amount of time and attention. One would think that it would be a great time to pick up a new hobby or practice really hard at my trombone, but I don’t feel the urgency to do any of those things.

As a (hopefully) secondary level teacher, I will get the chance to send many students off into a world to deal with exactly this sort of thing. I know of both friends and colleagues who have entered this sort of state for about a year immediately after graduating high school. All I can think after a week of this is: how on earth do you live like this for a whole year? If you took a year off to go backpacking in Europe, I could understand it (Europe is amazing and you all should go). But just… ‘relaxing’… for a whole year? Ick.

Anyhow, it’s now in the hands of the government and the bureaucracy, which means I could be a certified teacher just about anytime between 3 weeks from now and the end of time.

Penny for your thoughts?

